Checkout notifications are important for keeping a shopper informed about their order status, abandoned carts, and any additional actions they may need to take. Read how to enable Checkout Notifications.
When a customer completes checkout, Bolt sends them an order confirmation email with the following content:
- The Merchant’s logo is added to the top of the email.
- The subject is Your Purchase at [merchant name] (ref: [order number]).
- The reply-to email is Bolt’s support email.
Merchants cannot customize the reply-to email or any content within the email. These notifications are enabled by default. You can disable Order Rejected notifications on the Bolt Merchant Dashboard via Shopper Notification Settings.
Micro-Authorization(Micro-Auth) is a feature used for some orders during the order review process. When a risk analyst reviews an order, they determine whether an order should be approved, deferred, or permanently rejected. If the order is considered risky but borderline, the analyst can trigger the micro-auth and require verification before the transaction is completed.
If the micro-auth verification succeeds (within 48 hours), the transaction is automatically approved.
Merchants can optionally send shoppers an on-hold email when their order status changes to
reverisbly-rejected. This helps both the shopper and the merchant get the order verified for approval before the order becomes
When a customer’s order is permanently rejected, they are sent an Order Rejected email. The message text is:
Unfortunately your order at <Merchant Name> could not be processed. The total amount of <$XX.XX> has been returned to your credit card. Note that depending on your financial institution, it may take up to 7 days for an authorization to disappear.
We apologize for any inconvenience. This could be due to a security protection or a failed bank authorization. For more details or assistance, please email Bolt, <Merchant Name’s> payment processor at firstname.lastname@example.org.
These notifications are enabled by default. You can deactivate Order Rejected notifications on the Bolt Merchant Dashboard via Shopper Notification Settings.
If a charge on a customer’s card is refunded, they are sent an Order Refunded email. These notifications are disabled by default. You can enable Order Refunded notifications on the Bolt Merchant Dashboard via Shopper Notification Settings.by default.
Abandoned Cart Notifications
An abandoned cart occurs when a customer has a non-empty cart, opens checkout, fills in at least their email, but does not complete the checkout process. Merchants can enable Abandoned Cart Emails to notify customers and encourage them to return and complete their purchase.
Abandoned Cart Emails are sent 4 hours after abandonment. Merchants can also choose to send out a second email after 24 hours.
The subject of the email is “Your cart is waiting for you ([www.website.com])”. The sender’s name on the email is the merchant name, the sender’s email address is ‘email@example.com’, and the reply-to email is the retailer’s support email address.
Abandoned Cart Logic
Bolt also automatically detects when Abandoned Cart Emails should not be sent, such as not emailing users who attempted payment but encountered card declines or succeeded with another method.